Going Nowhere?

going nowhere

Once upon a time, which is approximately 1 month ago, I was visiting my old house from my childhood which was located very near from my new house, which I have lived in there for 13 at least years. I visit that house to help my mom oversee the renovating progress of that house. It was supposed to be just another ordinary day, until I suddenly see my old friend from my childhood from afar. He was somewhat far, and wasn’t walking to my direction, that I didn’t bother to call him. After these 13 years, he looks just exactly the same, that I recognize him immediately.

And that’s the “problem”. Well, not exactly a problem, actually. Nothing still happened on that day. But the “problem” is that he looks just exactly the same. You know, he comes from a family which is not too wealthy. They have a little bit economic problem at that time, actually. He’s slightly older than me, so I kinda learned many things from him when I was very young. But after all these times passes, he’s still just the same, nothing changed! I’m not being judgmental here, but you know the feeling when you see an old acquaintances, and yet he looks exactly the same, or he has already undergo big changes in his life. I mean, what was he doing with his life this whole years? Was he going nowhere? Doesn’t he want to accomplish something in his life?

Right after I hit that thought, I suddenly realized that maybe the problem is the difference in point of view. From my point of view, maybe he hasn’t changed, but maybe for him, he already change a lot! Who knows what happened to him? But my point is, change measurement is relative to one’s point of view. 10 m for a rabbit is very close, while 10 m for a turtle is maybe already far. You know what I mean? But then I hit another thought.

I considered myself to maybe already achieving something in my life. Not very spectacular record, but it’s not zero either. But how if according to other people, I were just walking on the place? How if, according to current world’s pace which is moving at light speed, I am just as slow as a turtle? Although everybody has their own blessing and resource, how if other person, seeing what resources I started from, and how far I have go, they just say I were wasting resources and time I have and not be something greater than what I am now?

This thought has bothering me for quite some times now. I can’t really explain how I were thinking, but just one thing for sure, I don’t want to end up like my old acquaintances, who, from other people’s point of view, is just going nowhere with his life. I don’t want to going nowhere. I want to getting somewhere, new places every time. New achievements, and new things to discover. That will makes my life harder, actually, as I’m seeking problem when there’s no problem. But I bet it will pay off in the long run, as the price I pay will be cheaper than if I just let myself be a sitting duck and let some bulldozer called “Survival of the Fittest” catch me up and run me over.

sharks eat sharks

Leave a Reply

