Daily Prompt: Opposite Day

Daily Prompt: If you normally write non-fiction, post a photo. If you normally post images, write fiction. If you normally write fiction, write a poem. If you normally write poetry, draw a picture.

(New) photographers, artists, poets: show us OPPOSITE.

When this shows up in the WordPress newsfeed today, I was in total loss of words. I usually post almost about anything in this blog, but mostly it’s about philosophy and tech. When I look again at my post, I realized that I almost never post anything that contains photos from my real life activities. So, today I will do something radically different, but also something that I was also looking forward to do from a very long time: Food Review.


Hercules-sized Serving

I was preparing with my things before we were going out on a planned hanging out with some of our friends, when my wife suddenly tug me and asked, “How about today we all go to Noodle Airlines?”

I wasn’t prepared to pay attention, especially to a weird unusual names. so I lost the last words. “Come again? What airlines?”

“Noodle Airlines.” she repeated herself.

I raised my eyebrows. “I don’t understand. Where are we going? What kind of airlines is that?”

She laughed, with her usual cute giggle-laugh. “No, that’s a restaurant.”

“A restaurant?” I tilt my head. “Why it had to use airlines as part of its name?”

“You’ll see,” she said smiling. “I saw about it on my friend’s instagram. It had this one menu, serving for ten people.” She raised her phone and show me her friend’s photo. I saw two men posing, with a gigantic bowl in front of them.

“But we’re only four people. It is too much, don’t you think, to fit ten people’s serving size into only four people?”

“My friend also in a party of four, and they can finish it too. How about you give them a little contact?” This one of her friend is happened to be my friend too. After I talked with him, I find out that they were three boys and one girl. They can finished it, but barely.

“Don’t worry, I believe your stomach size can take it all.” she said, giggling again. I rolled my eyes.

“Okay, but you got to help me. We’re only two boys and two girls here. I know you also has a big stomach spa… ouch!” she playfully slapped my arm for saying the forbidden words.

So, we go there and as we enter the restaurant, we’re greeted with airplane cabin-like interior.

noodle airlines (5)

noodle airlines (2)

noodle airlines (3)

After that we order the menu, which is somewhat expensive, or maybe not, depends on how to look at it.

noodle airlines (1)

And about the name, it use the name Hercules. I think it’s an interesting choice of name, as Hercules is the all-muscular powerful hero in the Greek fable, and that suggest that this gigantic bowl can only be finished by someone that all-muscular powerful person like him.

Hercules_KHREC

Not exactly like this, but, y’know.

But Hercules also the name of an aircraft design. The “Lockheed C-130 Hercules” is a four-engine turboprop military transport aircraft designed and built originally by Lockheed, now Lockheed Martin. Capable of using unprepared runways for takeoffs and landings, the C-130 was originally designed as a troop, medical evacuation, and cargo transport aircraft. It’s also one of the most familiar military aircraft in Indonesian military. And this is a restaurant called Noodle Airlines. Got it? That’s why I say it’s a clever name selection.

Photo_20031211_61934

Badass aircraft!

Okay, back to our delicious food. So, we ordered that Hercules menu and some beverages, and we wait. And then they comes. By using small table with rolling tire which usually found at airplane.

noodle airlines (6) noodle airlines (7)

And that’s our delicious-gigantic-serving Hercules noodle. Here, take a little close up of it.

noodle airlines (8)

Look at that gigantic serving!

And it’s really delicious! It really live up to its name. For those who understand, it has the taste of somewhat like Medan noodle. Or I think, it’s really a Medan noodle, but the serving is scaled up. If you live in Surabaya, I really recommend you to eat in here. The chicken meat, mushroom, dumplings, and eggs, all has a supporting taste. It’s sweet, particularly because I ordered sweet noodle. You can order plain noodle, but I really recommend you to order sweet noodle. We really finished it until the last noodle string. Well, actually, I took large part of that job. But it also because it’s delicious. I wasn’t sure we can finish it all when the noodle first came. But after I got the first bite, I immediately acclaim “Oh, we can finish this!” Hahaha. Last picture, cheers from Noodle Airlines!

noodle airlines (11)


Noodle Airlines

Manyar Kertoarjo V/12 St.
(near Bonnet supermarket)
Surabaya, Indonesia
Serving Time: star1star1star0star0star0
Serving Quality: star1star1star1star1star0

Food Reviewed

Hercules NA-888
Serving size: 10 people
Price: Rp. 130,000 / US$ 13
Food Taste: star1star1star1star1star0
Fun Factor: star1star1star1star05star0
Healthiness: star1star1star1star0star0
Food Design: star1star1star1star0star0
Money Value: star1star1star1star05star0
Recommended: star1star1star1star1star0

5 comments on “Daily Prompt: Opposite Day

  1. Wow! I LOVE NOODLES! 😀 Hope I can try that someday when I visit Indonesia. 😉

    Looking at your photo with the service crew / waiter made me smile. He seemed awkward and shy with the photo. Haha!

    • Hi Adrian, sorry for the late reply. I thought I’ve already replied your comment. Haha. Yes, he’s a shy one, and rushing to get back as soon as he delivered the food. If you visit Indonesia, especially Surabaya, don’t forget to notify me. I will certainly make time to show you around. 🙂

Leave a Reply

