Daily Prompt: Back to the Future

I think I want the pizza to be delivered 200 years from now.

I think I want the pizza to be delivered 200 years from now.

Today’s daily prompt is:

A service has been invented through which you can send messages to people in the future. To whom would you send something, and what would you write?

Before I say anything, I would like to say: FINALLY, a daily prompt which I’m not too late to join, with my favorite topic to discuss! WOOHOO! 😀

Ahem, back to the topic. Usually, the concept was the opposite: a technology has been invented so that we can communicate with people from the past. Or rather, GO to the past. But this type of communication concept is fairly new to me, but also old — if people from the future build a communication to the people to the past, then there automatically be way for people from the present to directly communicate with people from the future, through the communication channel build from the future. I just never positioned myself as the people from the past, so I never saw this idea coming.

For this case to work correctly, there must be an important assumption — that the people from the future cannot reply the message back. So, the message will be only one-way communication, from the present, to the future.

If I can send message to people in the future, I will send message to a couple of persons:

  • To my future wife-to-be. I won’t be able to know what the future held, whether it’s a good thing, or a bad thing. But I would like to send the message to exactly 50 years since our soon-to-be wedding day, that whatever happen (or will happen), I’m the luckiest guy on earth to marry her, and I would hope that she (is, and still) feel the same, and let’s finish until the last chapter of our fairy tale together, with the last sentence “and then they’re living happily ever after.”
  • To my future son(s)-to-be-born. I want to send the message to each of the boys at exactly their seventeen years old birthday, that even though they aren’t born yet at the time I’m writing this, I’ve already love them with all my heart, and I promised I will be there for them. Maybe I’m not the perfect father on earth, hell, I don’t even know whether I’ll become a father good enough for them, as I never be a father before. But I’ll say this as their friend, that a father’s word is true, however weird it sounds, as this is something I learned myself from bitter experiences. I just don’t want them to experience the pain they don’t have to going through. And also I want to send another message to each of the boys at their wedding, to congratulate them, and hope that they find a girl as beautiful and wonderful as their mother.
  • To my future daughter(s)-to-be-born. I want to send the message to each of the girls at exactly their twelve years old birthday, that even though our communication language is different (as man from woman, father to daughter), I’ll try my best to understand and always be there for them. And sorta become their little hero. Well, do I need to start pumping in the gym now, so later you’ll come the world and find out that you have a father with sort of superman-in-steroids muscle? No, I don’t think so. So let’s move on to the next image, shall we? 😀 Just kidding. But I will vow to them just like my vow to her mother, that I’ll protect them and keep them from harm, and be a model role as how a man they want to be select as their husband. And, oh yeah, I’m very eager to wait for the last dance with them at their wedding day!
  • To my future self. I want to send the message to twenty years from now, and reminding myself, do I have become what I’ve wanted to become? Do I have let the children becoming what they (or even, God) wanted to become, and not shoving some of my egos down into their throat? Have I respect and treat the woman I vow to marry, just the same like in the wedding day? All in all, be proud of yourself, because as I the person twenty years ago write this, know that that is the biggest fuel for me. And maybe for you as well.

That’s sort of concluding everything. I think I have bits here and there that I want to say more, but I believe that writing to the future will be extraordinary expensive so that I’d like to keep it short, and also to save you the reader from inescapable bored-to-death disaster by reading someone writing some kind of novel to himself in the future. 🙂

If you can send message to the future, what would you send, when, and to whom?

2 comments on “Daily Prompt: Back to the Future

    • Hey Adrian. Nice to hear again from you. Thanks for the nice feedback. The bad news is, I think I only have a good sense of humor on my split-personality in the internet. But don’t fret, I’m working on the great escape from the digital world to the real one. LOL. Thanks again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

