NVidia Kernel Version 306.97 Has Stopped Working!

This problem was making me scratching my head when I first encountered this in fellow co-worker’s computer. After she used her computer for about 10 minutes, the screen immediately goes black. And then it goes on again, but displays the screen in a strange way, and the wallpaper becomes black. And then it goes black for the second time. And it goes on again. This time, it displays the screen better, but still leave a strange artifact, and the wallpaper still black. And it shows an error message “windows kernel mode driver 306.97 has stopped working and has recovered”. This will goes on and on for 4 times, before she finally needs to restart her computer due to total hang.

After a thorough search and finding all the possible solution, then I find out one solution that works for me, and it’s actually pretty simple: update the driver. I never thought that the driver will be the problem. After I download the driver (it’s a whooping 128 MB for a driver!), install it, and restart the computer, everything went smoothly, like a new computer.

If you’re having the same problem as me, try to download the driver. Use google search for this word: “306.97-desktop-win8-win7-winvista-32bit-english-whql“. This is the file name.

Update: Okay, judging from the number of people who come to this post, I conclude that there are so many people who stumble into the same problem as me. So I dig a little bit and give you the exact link of the driver from the NVidia website. This is stated for GeForce R304 card, but I think this can be used on any GeForce card.

Link: NVidia Drivers 306.97 WHQL for 32-bit (for Windows Vista, Windows 8, Windows 7)
Link: NVidia Drivers 306.97 WHQL for 64-bit (for Windows 8 64-bit, Windows 7 64-bit, Windows Vista 64-bit)

Tell me if this is working for you or not.

Leave a Reply

