Gratitude

You call me at home
yelling about why I didn’t read
and reply your text messages
Look, I’m sorry, I said
I was watching the television
and didn’t hear the phone beeps
You ask me to pick you up
Because your tire just blown up
And then I’m on my way

You curse why this is happened to you
there’s only you in the road
that had to lead your bicycle by walking
meanwhile you see other people
driving their vehicle without problems
Boy, you forgot to see
that one man we passed over five minutes ago
that had to walk miles away everyday
just to got from one place to another
because he doesn’t lucky enough to have money
to buy a bicycle like you
Son, you have to learn to say your gratitude

You curse why this is happened to you
you have visited many shops and repair center
but they don’t have the replacement parts you need
or they still closed as this is still in holiday
and you need that bicycle
to go to work tomorrow
Boy, you forgot to see
that one woman we passed over five minutes ago
that sit on the side of the paved road
homeless, jobless, alone,
and don’t know what to eat tomorrow
Son, you have to learn to say your gratitude

You curse why this is happened to you
your bicycle suddenly broken so bad
that you even regretting to love God
as you feel you had more troubles
when you getting closer to Him
this is a time of holiday
and you feel you’re supposed to be happy
but why God doesn’t help you
in times of need, you say?
Why you always felt
that you’re the most
unlucky person on earth, you say?
But I remembered
last week you go with your friends on a vacation
you look so happy
Boy, do you remember
all the good things happened in your life?
Because I still remember
and now you said God never provide you happiness?
Son, you have to learn to say your gratitude

Why you never learn from your mistakes?
Why you easily forgot
when you receive the good from God
and you easily curse
when you thought you receive the bad from Him?
I still try to be patient
but sometimes I just thought
that maybe I’ve had enough
and I wanted to give up
until I realized
that there are parents out there
that has praying for years to have children
but they can’t
and here God trusted me
who is an unworthy parent
with a truly awesome son like you
Boy, I also have to learn to say my gratitude
I guess, both of us have to.

Leave a Reply

